Daffodil Standards

Posted by: Mark - Posted on:

Working together to improve end of life care

The Daffodil Standards.

One person dies every minute in the UK every year, most of whom have an advanced serious illness. The RCGP & Marie Curie national 2015 survey showed that 97% of GPs felt that general practice plays a key role in the delivery of care to people approaching the end of life, and their families. Therefore, being clear as a practice, about your strategy to consistently offer the best care for people affected by Advanced Serious Illness and End of Life Care and the continuous improvement you are looking to achieve is really important.

The Daffodil Standards are the UK General Practice Standards for Advanced Serious Illness and End of Life Care. They are a blend of quality statements, evidence-based tools, reflective learning exercises and quality improvement steps. The Standards are relevant to all UK practices, offering a structure to enable practices, whatever the starting level, to be proactive organisations in which continuous learning and improvement steps are an integral part of caring for people.

What are the Daffodil Standards?